TBT: A Compilation

{by: alicia} I feel like it’s been ages since I’ve last blogged. I don’t have a lot to report, so prepare thyself for a bit of a photo dump/catchup. I’ve been busy with working, life, the usual. Other than focusing on work, I’ve been trying to enjoy these last remnants of warm weather. The high on Saturday is 52 degrees–she says as she sobs in earnest. Fall, you’re pretty but kind of a jerk.

IMG_2243

Deception.

I celebrated the sunshine with a long overdue trip to Coppa Gelato where I indulged in scoops of pumpkin and bourbon meyer. Dear Westerville, why aren’t you closer to me? I need access to this gelato at all hours of the day.

Coppa GelatoI also got motivated to try some other new-to-me eateries. You’ll see, once the cold rolls in, I will never want to leave my house again. So I’ve got to get going while the going’s good. That is, unless Alexis drags me out. She excels at that.

Anyway, Thom and I finally went to Pizza Cucinova (aka the Chipotle of pizzerias) and really enjoyed it. The personal pies start at $5, but for only $8 you can have unlimited toppings. Once you get through the usual assembly-line rigamarole, they toss your pizza into a super hot wood-fire oven for a few minutes until it looks like this:

IMG_2259

Give me all the peppers, sausage, and fresh basil.

That was successful meal number one, or number two if you count the gelato. Amazing meal number two (or three, why do I complicate things) was at a place I’ve been dying to try for weeks. After seeing photos all over Instagram and the local blogs, I finally made it out to Super Chefs. This local breakfast spot is quickly becoming an institution with its out of control combinations, comic-inspired menu items, and outrageous presentation.

Despite us going on the same day a second location opened in Gahanna, there was still a 30-40 minute wait. WORTH IT, GUYS.

The Juggernaut at Super Chefs.

The Juggernaut at Super Chefs.

This beast, or juggernaut rather (X-Men puns left and right!), consisted of red velvet waffles sandwiching fried chicken, candied bacon, fried egg, and two types of cheeses. There was even a drizzle of maple syrup and a side of strawberry compote because why not.

After that life-changing event, I swung by Mission to get my greedy hands on some Intelligentsia coffee. Thanks to the helpful barista, I walked away with a cup of Kunga Maitu. This Kenyan brew has notes of pineapple, pink grapefruit, buttered rum, and hibiscus. It’s a little pricy, but I usually justify everything with shouts of “treat yo self!

Mission Coffee

Unfortunately, my bout of good luck ended about here. After the coffee break, I stopped by my cousin’s house to care for her pets while she was out of town. Wouldn’t you know, I couldn’t find the cat, searched high and low, and in an effort to find it, locked myself out of the house. With my cousin’s blessing, I popped out a screen and proceeded to break into her kitchen window. Naturally, this was the moment the cat decided to reveal himself.

IMG_2273

THIS JERK.

After climbing into the sink and laughing hysterically, I made amends with the jerk and went about my merry way. The rest of the weekend was less eventful, thankfully.

Tuesday night, Alexis and I went to a blogger event at Denmark. Since this is a cocktail bar, you know we had to order some crazy concoction. Correction: Alexis did the ordering for the both of us and struck gold twice.

Denmark Hall

Nightmare on Vine Street and the Bee’s Knees.

She’s been on a massive honey kick lately, so her drink of Bombay, honey syrup, and lemon was a no-brainer. Since I am an indecisive sort, she directed me towards the Nightmare on Vine Street, and I’m glad I listened because it was amazing. I wish Denmark had a description on its menu, but it contained Oyo vodka, vanilla peppercorn, some sort of extract, and something else–dear lord, how I have botched this drink. I’m not doing it any justice, so do yourself a favor and try one the next time you’re around the Convention Center.

Actually, do yourself a favor and get out there before the weather completely turns. It won’t be long before I’m crying about ice and snow and posting 900 photos of soup. I know, much to look forward too.

One thought on “TBT: A Compilation

Leave a Reply

