Doggy DNA

{alexis}

Yes, it’s that time again: Time for another installment in the charmed life of Indiana Bones. He’s been a fixture on this blog since its inception, and we’re all better for it. I’ve told the story of his adoption here before, but since he was a rescue, we never knew what breeds his parents were. Everyone in the family has had a guess: My mother was convinced he was part Irish wolfhound, and husband swore he was a border terrier.

GUESS WHAT. Now we know! For Christmas, husband bought me a DNA testing kit for canines, by Wisdom Panel, and we FINALLY got organized and sent it in.

So this is your last chance: What is the genetic make up of this beast?

indiana bonesAny guesses?

I swore up and down I knew what he was, and guess what — I was right! Indy is half soft-coated wheaten terrier, and a quarter each beagle and short-haired dachshund.

Shocking, right?

Well, not the wheaten. His hair is almost exactly the same, and explains why he doesn’t shed.

cream-soft-coated-wheaten-terrier-wallpaperIndy has a differrent (okay, cuter) hair cut, but they look pretty similar. And here’s the beagle:

Beagle_892289Those are Indy’s eyes! When he really, really wants whatever it is you’re eating, he knows how to use those big, brown eyes. The dachshund is what really surprised us, though:

dachshund-puppies-standard-long-haired-dachshund-puppies-ashbourne-derbyshire-picturesHe doesn’t really have the long body, but he’s got the longer tail and similar ears.

I know we’re crazy dog people, but the DNA test was SUPER fun, and I have dubbed myself a breed-identifying GENIUS since I got the wheaten right. Just another perk of rescuing a pooch — doing a little digging into the family tree is always a good time!

5 thoughts on “Doggy DNA

  1. This is so fun! I want to do this with Sisuaq. We know she’s mainly Greenland Dog, and she’s got the Spitz tail and ears, but I know there are other things going on in her DNA. Anyway, I can definitely see the Beagle eyes on Indy. Beware their hypnotic power :).

    Like

  2. I would have staked a big bet on his having some poodle running around in his genes. Anyway, he is cuter than the sum of his parts! Adorable. Now I’m dying to test my two street dogs!!! I don’t know if I said it before, but I have thought it before that I love the name of your blog. Judy

    Like

Leave a Reply

