Fried Chicken Heaven at Double Comfort

{alexis}

I planned my weekend around our first visit to Double Comfort, a new fried chicken joint in the Short North. I ran FOREVER on Saturday (okay, a half an hour), and clocked an hour on the elliptical Sunday morning before brunch. All for a meal like this.

double comfort biscuits and gravy

YES. I will toil at the gym for many hours to guiltlessly order, hoard, and consume a plate like that. What you see is an insane helping of biscuits and gravy, which served as our appetizer. Yep, it was that kind of meal.

I am getting ahead of myself. Double Comfort just opened this past weekend. On Sunday, the family laid claim on a 14 foot table in the corner and got to say (almost) literally, “ONE OF EVERYTHING.” Full disclosure: the owners of Double Comfort are close family friends, but I assure you, everything is just as hyperbolically delicious as I describe.

Let me take you on a tour of the menu, beginning with this showstopper: Macaroni and Cheese Waffles.

double comfort macaroni waffleYes! That is a waffle MADE OF macaroni and cheese! Yes! It is topped with eggs! YES! Those are buckets of syrup twirling around the plates! (This is probably as close to living “Be Our Guest” as I’ll ever come.)

You know when you go out and order fancy mac ‘n’ cheese, and everybody fights over those chewy, baked pieces on the edge? This is like an entire plate of that! Every bite is chewy, crispy, cheesey and carby. Be sure to try with both syrup and hot sauce; the latter was my favorite for sure.

But there’s more! I went for the classic chicken and waffles.

double comfort chicken and wafflesDoused in another helping of syrup, this was a true delight. The waffles here are very sturdy, but not tough. And check out my “side dish,” a goat cheese and fried green tomato biscuit.

double comfort biscuitHave we talked about fried green tomatoes before? And how I am obsessed with them? I definitely haven’t yet preached on the beauty of goat cheese, which is easily in my top five favorite foods. Basically, this monster was created for ME (here’s where my parents would tell you I have a healthy ego).

But other people ate things too! Husband went with the classic fried chicken dinner. You choose white or dark, and the whole thing comes with fries, cole slaw, and of course, a slice of soft, white bread.

double comfort fried chickenThe chicken here is wonderful. Salty, but not overly so, crispy and rich. In the back you’ll see husband’s side of bacon cornbread.

Wait, there’s more! One of the crowd favorites was the eggs sardou.

double comfort eggs sardouThis is reminiscent, of course, to eggs benedict, but more outrageous, and possibly more wonderful. On the bottom you’ll notice the biscuits, topped with thick ham, collard greens, eggs, and hollandaise. Let’s talk about the collard greens: so perfect here. They lend an earthy crunch to an otherwise super-rich dish.

Husband thought the favorite, however, was the chicken-fried steak on a waffle (because if it’s good, it’s probably better on top of a waffle!).

double comfort chicken fried steakI MEAN. Are you having heart attacks looking at this? I only sampled a tiny bit, but husband went on and on about this. The chicken fried steak this, chicken fried steak THAT. I watched him steal a few bites while his sister was being social (as opposed to him and me, hunched over our plates, shoveling gravy into our mouths). He simply can’t be trusted.

We didn’t partake in any of the adult beverages, but they have them! Mimosas, and Bloody Marys and anything else you can dream up, all housed behind the charming bar.

double comfortI’m exahusted now, re-living and writing all of that. It was a memorable meal, and I urge you to get down there to try it. If you want company, you know where to find me!

Double Comfort is located at 505 N. High Street.

8 thoughts on “Fried Chicken Heaven at Double Comfort

  1. Mac and cheese waffles? Whhattt!! You need to come down to Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles šŸ™‚ However, I don’t think they have as interesting a pairing as that. They have more of the classics. I would definitely plan my day around a meal like that.

    Like

  2. Wow! I’m unsure where this is, but it doesn’t matter because I could not trust myself in that restaurant. It was fun reading of your culinary adventures, though. Now on to another one…Judy

    Like

  3. Pingback: Looking Back on 2014 | Wander & Whine

Leave a Reply

