Birthday Continues at the Farmer’s Market and Harvest Pizza

{alexis}

How is my birthday over a week in the past already? Given my last post, with its dual cakes and fantastic dinner, you’d think I was done celebrating. Not so!

For my actual birthday on Saturday, I forced Alicia and Megan to meet me at the Worthington Farmer’s Market. I suppose I was inspired after our culinary adventure the previous night, and thought I could recreate a masterpiece with the freshest of ingredients. Don’t worry, that didn’t happen, but we did have a lovely morning!

After arriving a bit late (I was literally TRAPPED in German Village due to the Cap City Marathon), we had only an hour to peruse the wares. We started with the brightest produce I’ve ever seen, though Megan and I gravitated toward the green tomatoes.

IMG_9879Alicia, true to form, went straight for the baked goods, and we made our first bakery stop at Sassafras Bakery, where she picked up a giant, soft cookie.

IMG_9882Each with a parcel, we kept strolling. Worthington is so charming, and it is so nice to see all the foot traffic that the farmer’s market brings. I’m jealous of all the folks that can actually walk in from the neighborhood (in fact, we’re looking for a house here! SELL ME YOUR HOUSE!).

So we kept wandering (no whining, at this point), and made a few friends along the way. We were predictably waylaid by Jenn’s Cupcakes and Confections. Her free samples (teeny cupcakes!) were outrageously delicious, and the chocolate-covered Oreos you see below are just too cute for words.

IMG_9883Aren’t they perfect? They look like they’d be great shower or wedding favors. Jenn herself was very kind, and spent a few minutes sharing some information about her business. I’ll definitely be keeping this in mind for future parties and events!

We pressed on, reading boards and familiarizing ourselves with the offerings of the market. I sampled some delicious pickles, while Alicia made a beeline for the Pattycake Bakery stand. She quickly selected the jauntily monocled cookie you see below.

IMG_9942The other cookie is the one she picked up from Sassafras Bakery. At least she went for a variety!

Having made the whole loop around the market, we decided to take our snacks to the car, and go on to the main event: lunch. Husband met us for my birthday meal, and we headed South to Harvest’s new location in Clintonville.

We waited about twenty minutes for a table — this place is not large. It is, however, charming! We slid into the quilted booths and carefully decided on unique combinations for our lunch special orders. Megan went for the fried pickle chips.

IMG_9918

So good. Thick slices made for crunchier chips, and the dipping sauces were delightful and tangy.

IMG_9922

Husband went for the house chop (and a healthy spackling of pepper). Look at those peppers!IMG_9920

Alicia’s Mean Green salad had a healthy helping of avocado. In the back you’ll see my kale ceasar, and you’ll also see my impatient hand trying to eat it. We were all big fans, and I loved my kale; it’s so crunchy and satisfying to eat.

Because we are selfish, we each got our own pizzas, no repeats allowed. Also no sharing allowed.

IMG_9927

Here’s Meg’s pineapple and ham. I’m not one for fruit, but put pineapple on all the pizzas and I am more than happy.

IMG_9934

In the back right, you’ll see husband’s Geary Street selection. Yes, he went for the clam pizza! Actually, garlic pizza is more accurate — it had a strong garlic flavor, and wasn’t too overly seafood-y. To the left, you’ll see my mushroom pizza. A winner in every way. This is my favorite kind of pizza — thin, crispy, and more about the toppings than bread. And the crushed red pepper.

In the foreground, you’ll see Alicia’s Spicy Yuma. Gouda on pizza! And bring on the hot peppers! I’ve had this before and know from experience that it’s a success. As I said, we all dug in and kept the sharing (and talking) to a minimum. We had four pizzas to eat!

After finishing our respective pies, the lovely waitress came by and offered a complimentary dessert for my birthday, which I gladly accepted. Enter the Butterscotch Budino.

IMG_9941

Here I am not sharing again. This was a delightful surprise. I’m generally not a fan of custards or puddings, but this got better as the time went on. The hazelnuts on top were BOMB, and the caramel-streaked butterscotch inside made for a rich, satisfying dessert. Instead of building in sweetness, it built in flavor; literally every bite was better than the last. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it so much, but enjoy it I did!

Later in the evening, husband and I headed back to 16-Bit Bar + Arcade to cap off the birthday celebrations. I button-mashed on Street Fighter, and beat the living daylights out of him in the hunting game (who knew I was a dead-eye?). We even enjoyed a few sips of Darth Vaderade — it was May the Fourth weekend after all!

It was a wonderful birthday, full of food of all types, and good friends. I’m a lucky kid, aren’t I? Consider yourselves all invited to next year’s festivities; you may as well put it on your calendar now!

6 thoughts on “Birthday Continues at the Farmer’s Market and Harvest Pizza

  1. What a delightful Saturday you had to celebrate your birthday! I am side-eyeing that monocle cookie while also wanting to ingest it immediately. Life is just never straightforward . . .

    Everything just looks so delicious, and I will eat any custard/pudding dessert you don’t want. Yum!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogger Meetup at The Crafty Pint | Wander & Whine

  3. Pingback: Summer Cravings | Wander & Whine

  4. Pingback: Looking Back on 2014 | Wander & Whine

Leave a Reply

