Ipsy Bag Review

{alicia}

I’ve mentioned once or twice that I’m a big fan of subscription services. You mean someone else will curate fun things on my behalf with minimal effort on my end? Sign me up, kay thanks.

I dig mystery surprises showing up at my house every month (it’s like Christmas, but to myself and less thoughtful), but you’ve got to watch out for the duds. I was a Birchbox devotee for a six month period, and after so many subpar boxes in a row, I was done.

I’m being presumptuous now, (if you know what Birchbox is, you can skip this part), but for those who don’t don’t know, Birchbox is a subscription service of deluxe-sized beauty products shipped to your home. You fill out a questionnaire and they send you items based on your preferences for $10 a month. In theory, you would get your money’s worth because of all the high end samples you’d be receiving, but we’ll get to that.

The first few months with them were pretty decent, but then it’s like someone got lazy and insisted on sending me a million little perfume samples (which are not of “deluxe” size), or random little teabags. I think one time I received a box with nothing but tea, mini perfume, and nail polish in a hideous color. Hilarious, did I really spend $10 on that? Then I would see the awesome boxes beauty bloggers would get, and feel duped. I cancelled shortly after.

Fast forward to this year, my cousin Cherise started vlogging and suggested I sign up for an Ipsy Bag. It’s the same idea as a Birchbox, down to the price of $10, but your items come in a reusable makeup bag. Ipsy was cofounded by makeup artist extraordinare Michelle Phan, which also won me over, so I got on the waiting list. After a couple months, I forgot I had even signed up, but then yesterday I received a surprise in the mail!

securedownload-1

Elle–yet another subscription I would recommend.

The bags are themed each month, with April’s being “Beauty Rocks,” as a nod to festival season.

I received:
-Urban Decay 24/7 Velvet eyeliner
-Cailyn tinted balm in 12 Apple Pink
-St. Tropez Gradual Tan
-Such A Tease false lashes
-City Color Shadow & Highlight Mousse in White Gold

securedownload

I was pleasantly surprised by how successful this bag was. With the exception of the tinted balm (which is more orange than pink), I would use all of these products on a regular basis. I already use the Urban Decay liner, so it that was a happy coincidence. Now the big test will be how consistent the bags are each month. Here’s hoping!

If you want to try Ipsy for yourself or join the beauty community, click here.

Leave a Reply

