NOLA Pt. II {Food}

{alicia}

Since yesterday’s post on New Orleans was record-breaking in length, I will make a heroic attempt to keep this succinct. I’m fond of waxing poetic about food, but I’m running on fumes and am somewhat delirious. Lucky for you, I will let the photos do most of the talking.

In short, New Orleans is a foodie’s dream come true. There are so many delicious regional flavors and dishes that it’s overwhelming in a glorious way. My only regret was that I had but one stomach to fill. Nevertheless, we made a valiant effort.

I wanted to have beignets and cafe au lait for breakfast everyday, but my husband put his foot down. Apparently, he “wasn’t impressed” with beignets and doesn’t like coffee. Who IS this person? I suppose the line that wrapped around Cafe Du Monde and my nonstop excitement may have overhyped the matter, but I still say it was warranted.

IMG_8866

The menu is short and sweet (pretend I made a hilarious pun about beignets being sweet and coffee being, um, short? Now, laugh hysterically at my imagined wit). There are essentially two items on the menu. Beignets (three per order) and beverages. Also, you will be covered in powdered sugar no matter what precautions you take. Just embrace it.

Another morning, my husband wanted a “real breakfast,” so we found ourselves at EAT New Orleans, and I was immediately smitten. Farm-fresh produce and eating local is the quickest way to win my heart, and it sort of reminded me of my beloved Skillet back home. We shared the biscuits and gravy, grits, bacon, chocolate+chocolate pancakes, eggs, and toast.

IMG_8929

Quite honestly, this was spectacular in its simplicity. I wanted to have all of my meals at EAT from that point on, but it didn’t seem fair to the other restaurants in town. I highly recommend this place, but they close at 2 p.m. and open again in the 5:00 hour, so pay attention.

If you’re a fan of seafood, you’re going to love eating in NOLA. From gumbo to sandwiches it’s in everything. My first meal upon our arrival was a crab burger from Oceana, jalapeño hush puppies, and a hurricane on the side. Absolute bliss. My husband was happy with the amount of fried shrimp offerings on every single menu.

IMG_8910

We were big fans of po boys.

I was happy to try crawfish étouffée for the first time (I’d never had either at this point).

IMG_8909To the uninitiated, crawfish tails taste a lot like shrimp and étouffée is a spicy stew served with rice, so you really can’t go wrong. That is, unless you hate seafood, and I know some of you nuts are out there do (nuts being a term of endearment in this case).

Something I have been craving since our return is a rando, little delicacy I found at Rouses:

IMG_9033

Someone please tell me Zapp’s Voodoo chips are available in Columbus. I’m having withdrawals here. We were standing in line at Rouses and the colorful bag caught my attention (I’m like a marketer’s dream). So I bought them on a whim, and I couldn’t get enough of the flavor. Imagine a salt and vinegar/barbecue chips hybrid and dust them with a little paprika. It’s a wondrous combination.

It was ALL wondrous.

{Honorable mentions}
-Gator bites
-Gumbo
-Pralines
-Muffuletta

3 thoughts on “NOLA Pt. II {Food}

  1. Pingback: Looking Back on 2014 | Wander & Whine

Leave a Reply

