On Eating

{alexis}

In winter, I’m a big fan of soup. It warms you up, and you can eat a ton of it without feeling like you have to swap your jeans for sweat pants. (Though there is something unsettling about hearing that slosh in your stomach after eating too much. What, just me?)

So I was going to share one of my favorite soup recipes with you (don’t worry, I will!), but it occurred to me that I should let you in on my deep, dark secret. Ready for this? It’s shocking!

I’m on Weight Watchers. Okay, I know: This is not exciting, especially if you know anything about Weight Watchers. Truly, the plan is a model of how humans should eat on a regular basis. Yes, you can have those six thin mints (WHY, GIRL SCOUTS, WHY?), but then you get lettuce for dinner (this may or may not have happened to me on Tuesday night). Sure, drink a bottle of wine: DO YOU. But say goodbye to those french fries. Generally it’s about balance, something most people could do better.

diet-plan

I did the plan in college with my mom to lose five or so pounds, and I recommitted two years ago while I was planning my wedding. I was able to get down to my dream weight before the big day (no, not goal weight, my dream weight), but I started undoing all that work the day of the wedding. Hors d’oeuvres? Give me seventeen. Waiter, I know there’s more cake back there; I paid for extra. I am the bride who required the pretzel rolls out-weigh the plain in the bread basket, who drank beer out of a wine glass to avoid shaming my mother (it passes for white wine, no problem), and demanded several hundred meat balls at the day-after brunch. Needless to say, I ENJOY A MEAL.

Alas, after the holidays (Christmas calories aren’t calories), my jeans are tighter and my gym pants — honestly, who bought these gym pants? Surely it wasn’t me. So here we are again. Calculating food points and earning activity points.

But it’s fine, because the good news is, Weight Watchers actually works. To be clear, I am not overweight, and never have been. But I know myself, and I know that, with my love — nay, ZEST — for food, I have to keep an eye on that scale if I want to wear a certain size.

Essentially, this whole post is to warn you, brave reader (+100 if you’re still with me), that many of my recipes are going to be Weight Watchers points sensitive. (Though not that Valentine’s day shirred eggs recipe. IT WAS A HOLIDAY.) The recipe I’m posting here is no different. This lentil soup is quite literally my favorite soup recipe. It is good EVERY TIME (except that one time the lid came off the pepper). It keeps you full and is the best lunch ever when there’s snow on the ground (we can only count on our space heaters for so much).

You’ll need a bunch of vegetables and a slow cooker for this delicious recipe. I always add a ton of celery seed as well because it makes it more delicious. You’ll get 5 PointsPlus per 1.5 cup serving, which, for those of you who don’t speak WW yet (you will, reader), is great. Let me know what you think!

Credit to Weight Watchers

Credit to Weight Watchers for the photo.

Weight Watchers Slow Cooker Lentil Soup

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for this post. I am a real-life user of the plan. For more information, check out WeightWatchers online. 

4 thoughts on “On Eating

  1. Pingback: Alexis' 3-Day Juice Cleanse with SambaFresh - Wander & Whine

Leave a Reply

