The Little Donut Shop

IMG_8581

From the top, left to right: Samoa, Strawberry Shortcake, Cookie Dough, M&M, Cinnamon Roll, and Chocolate Pretzel.

{alicia}

Every now and again, my friend Maria bribes me with pie, and I come over to watch some ridiculous movie we think we want to see. This past weekend, I came armed with the 2013 remake of Romeo & Juliet and a box of doughnuts from the Little Donut Shop—because apparently something called crack pie wasn’t enough sugar for me.

Since last fall, I’ve been assailed with Instagram images of batshit doughnuts from said shop, yet have somehow resisted its siren song. Since Maria lives relatively close to the University District, I decided this would be the day I give in. Parking is a pain on campus, but I was willing to give it a go, and managed to snag a meter right around the corner. After a random Brutus Buckeye sighting and me nearly falling into a snowdrift, I made it to my destination (mostly) unscathed.

As you can deduce from my photo, I walked away with a half dozen outrageously-topped doughnuts ($6). My personal favorites were the cinnamon roll and strawberry shortcake (recommended to me by one of the workers). Unpictured is the Peet’s coffee ($2) I got to go, because while I adore Maria and her baking skills, I do not adore her Folger’s instant.

You know what else I don’t adore? This R+J remake (with the exception of Chuck Bass playing Tybalt). After the masterpiece that is Baz Luhrmann’s, why even bother. We spent a lot of time wishing we were watching that version instead, and I had a major sugar crash from the trifecta of coffee, doughnuts, and what was essentially sugar pie.

Aside from strawberry shortcake and cinnamon roll, I was indifferent to the other flavors, but to be fair, my idea of a perfect doughnut is a hot and ready from Krispy Kreme—two totally different worlds. These doughnuts are dense with the focus on the frosting and excessive toppings. My husband is in the cakey (and excessive) doughnut camp, so he was a fan of every single flavor. I’d ask him what he recommends, but he’d literally say everything.

The Little Donut Shop is located next to the Newport, and under The Big Bar at 1716 N. High Street. They are open Monday through Sunday from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

6 thoughts on “The Little Donut Shop

  1. That’s amazing! I am doing okay. I found a job in marketing about a year ago, but I think that’s going to come to an end soon. I’m looking for freelancing work right now or to be contracted with a company that I can write for…..have you ever tried freelancing before?

    Like

Leave a Reply

